BabyI started knitting this around the end of April, but it took until June 16th to complete – not because it’s an especially difficult pattern, it’s quite simple, but I just couldn’t find my knitting mojo mixed in with all of the doctor appointments and stress that comes with that.

The pattern is easy to understand and uploaded wonderfully into KnitCompanion. You can go with a solid colour, two colours, or use self striping yarn which is what I did. My yarn choices were knitpicks felici in rainbow, and knitpicks stroll glimmer in black. Since I don’t know the sex of the baby I wanted something that would be fairly gender neutral, but I also don’t believe that there are boy / girl colours per say. I think this rainbow cardigan worked out wonderfully. The only downside is that it’s going to be way too small for my little bean because of those medical issues I spoke of in the previous post. I was hoping this would be a nice warm skin-to-skin shirt that bean could wear when I start breastfeeding, but it will take a bit of time before they can wear it. In the meantime I’ve started looking at some toques (hats) since my due date is around the end of October and that means colder weather, plus if little bean is born tiny, well, they’ll need some extra help keeping warm.

The picture above is before I washed / pinned it into place. It’s not perfect, I see areas that I could have done better with, but I’m still really pleased with the end result. I have to remind myself that I’ve only been knitting since September 2015 – and that most of 2016 has been spent not knitting at all.

I used my Hiyahiya bamboo interchangeable needles for most of this project and swapped over to my knitpicks rainbow double pointed needles for the sleeves (I love my DPN and still haven’t mastered doing the magic loop). The hiyahyia are my favourite set, even though I bought them second hand and they’re pretty worn. I can’t afford a new set any time soon so I hope these ones last. The cords are a joy to work with especially because the entire thing swivels. It’s probably the one thing I wish my other knitting needles all did. I highly recommend them if you’re looking for a new set.

I’m really glad that the pattern is finally out of my queue and I mustered the energy to complete it. I may even make a second one. They’re fantastic gifts, don’t use a lot of yarn, and look absolutely adorable. You can browse through the completed projects to get a better sense of just how cute these little cardigans are.

